Which Rear shock? Used FZ1 or new Ohlins?

cambo

Avid Rider
Hey everyone,

Just hoping to get some advice here:

I found a used fz1 shock on ebay for 150 but Sportbiketrackgear.com has the ohlins rear shock for 650. I've heard a lot of good things about both shocks but it seems that the ohlins is more on the serious track riding side...

My question is, for someone who weighs 230lbs with no gear on, which rear shock would you recommend for daily street riding (commuting 80 miles roundtrip)? I just want something that won't sink as much lol, and I don't mind spending the money on the Ohlins but won't if it's just overkill.

Really appreciate any input!!

cambo

Avid Rider
ahhhh damnit, I'm a noob. I think I answered my question through Fazed's thread.

FZ1 shock it is! how do I delete this thread...

F

Fazed

If you want to be a track monster and carve up twisty roads with abandon then Ohlins would be your idea option.

If you use your bike as a commuter/allrounder type bike then I would go the FZ1 shock for value. I use my bike to do everything, (long distance touring, commuting, drag strip, track days) and find the FZ1 shock is more than up to the task

cambo

Avid Rider
Fazed,

thanks dude! yeah I don't know how I missed your thread about your conversion. I'm just glad I finally found an fz1 shock! now hopefully it's still there on ebay...

F

Fazed

The only thing bad I just found out about FZ1 shocks is that they are not rebuildable :(

cambo

Avid Rider
Would you mind explaining why a non-rebuildable shock is bad? Does that mean you can't service it when the time comes and have to resort to completely replacing it?

Sorry..noob here. Google, surprisingly, isn't helping me answer this...

F

Fazed

Yep, when it wears out you throw it away and get a new one.

C

Camo

When it wears out, sign up on the FZ1 site.... The guys over there don't rate them, likely to find one that's been sitting around since the guy bought the bike.

B

bren