Performance gains?

kbrink

Just checking in to see if anyone has notice any "seat of you pants" or dyno proven performance gains from their after market slip on exhaust? I know some bikes are more excepting of exhaust mods than others, and I'm new to the FZ8.

Thanks & Ride safe, but have FUN!!! :rmwl:

H

Hoover

I have the Yoshi but I put it on the day I got the bike so have no comparison.
It has been my experience over the years that a full system will give you a noticable bump at the middle of the power band. Adding just the muffler will give you a few more horses but will you notice it? I doubt it.
What you will notice is that the bike will rev with a little more energy. It will feel a little more responsive throughout the rev range. And of course, it will sound much better.

Rubicon

I have Akrapovic with cat delete and Power Commander and I can notice a difference with all around power once I got a good tune done.

Speedo007

The best power upgrade you can get is by changing the headers for the akra headers, that completely eliminates the HP dip around 5k rpm.

I now ride the Yoshimura R-77 without baffle, no power commander, and it's really hard to say if it feels more powerful, as the sound is so freakin awesome, makes you feel like it has 50HP more then stock lol! But it probably barely has like 3-4HP more :)

Crazywb23

I got the two brothers full exhaust with the v.a.l.e. slip-on no baffle, pc-5, and k-n high flow. I can notice a big difference in throttle response. The power curve is a lot stronger. From the jump of the line and especially @ freeway speeds. :D

kbrink

Thanks guys for the info. The little extra bit on the bottom end is what I'm hoping the slip-on exhaust will help with, just a little bit more eagerness to spin those rpm's up faster, to bridge the gap between 1k-5k rpms. And like always, the Sound is a added benifit!! :tup:

Crazywb23