NEW FZ8 Owner...I hope. Need some help

860Rider

Hi Everyone! Tony here from CT. I wanted to do a quick intro and ask for some help. I've been watching the this forum for a while now and I like the interaction, and how respectful everyone has been. I've had some bad forum experiences in the past. This place seems like what I've ben looking for! :D

Im a family guy with a wife and 3 kids. My wife and I enjoy other hobbies together, and riding was on our list next. Im getting back into riding Spring 2014 with my wife. She'll be a first time rider. We have a few bikes already picked out for her that we will be looking at after she takes the MSF course. (refresher for me)

Other bikes Ive considered are the FZ6R, Ninja 650, Suzuki SFV 650, and even and FZ1. For reference. My first bike was a 2002 YZF-600R I rode it for 3.5 years before having to sell for personal reasons.

I'd like some of your buying advice if you guys won't mind. I've had my eye on the FZ8 all summer, and was looking forward to investing. I found a local dealer that has 2 left over 2013 in stock. I really can't invest until May at the earliest. (I know spring is the worst time to buy)

1-What kind of price should I see come spring? I was quoted the $8890.00 "with incentives" Mid summer (for example) they were offering 800 off but I would imagine going into 2014 this is now a "prior year" left over that's been discontinued.

2-Do you guys think parts will still be readily available, or should I try to get my add ons sooner rather than later? Say in the next year

-Ive seen some dealers in other states near me (NJ) selling 2013 for 6700 but it wasn't clear if that's a "new left over" or pre owned. I never want to assume.

Sorry for the long first topic out but I'd like to get a handle on it all, and join up. Thanks in advance-Tony!

NoNine4me

First you might read through this:
http://www.779cc.org/forum/47053-post58.html