First bike...first ride...

codename607

Well this weekend I finally received a certificate for passing the basic rider course and on Monday the first thing I did after work was head to the MVA to get my lic.

Yesterday I put about 9 miles on the bike and today another 6. Basically only riding it in a large parking lot and down a traffic filled rode. As of right now this bike still scares the water out of me and I've only manage to get it up to a top speed of 45mph.

Over the next few days I'm going to ride it more and hopefully get use to it so I can take it down some cool roads.

But for now the parking lot is good enough for me.

How long did it take you guys to get use to your first bike?

cpatt

ill be honest my first bike it took me about 2 weeks of riding to be comfortable. and i still to this day learn a little more every time i ride. ive been riding for 2 years now.

cambo

Avid Rider
Good move brosef...baby steps! I did the same exact thing...except sub a parking lot for my neighborhood street. G'damn I still remember the first time I hit 30mph. I was like:

HOLY SHIT I'M GON' DIEEEEEEE

I can remember it like it was yesterday because...well...it was like yesterday haha. I've barely got more time than you on two wheels brotha.

I will agree with cpatt...it was about 2 weeks of super nervous riding for me: trying not to stall at every chance, always worried about shifting i.e. when to shift, when to brake, how hard to brake, trying to stay out of the oily part of the lane but not wanting to get too close to the edge of the lane, etc etc. 55 mph? Forget it, eff you highway, you're too scary.

And then one day I was riding and I literally thought to myself, "whoa...I'm not thinking about the stuff I used to be paranoid about."

Still learning though. Have a lot to learn. Laurel isn't too far man, would love to go for a ride one of these days. I'm only in Rockville.

master paper clip