aux LEDs

SeñorJack

El Guapo
I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a small bright LED that I can incorporate into the vents on the tail section of the 8. I am looking for a single diode that is bright, weather resistant, and compatible for the dc12v circuit.

does anyone here have any ideas? this is my first attempt at some "custom lighting". I want to be more visible and comply with CA state law of having your front and rear signals have 9" between them

also, i think they need to be amber. anyone care to chime in? :)

rcs530

I used these in the stock mirrors for turns signals. They are blindingly bright when you look directly at them, and still pretty bright off to the side a bit. I put 9 in each mirror with a 470 ohm resistor is series with each one to get them to work on 12 volts.

Choosing the right resistor is key for getting them to work on 12 volts, you need to calculate the current running through the LED. Mine say the LED has a 2 volt drop across it, and is rated for 20 mA continuous current.

A little ohm's law action:

13.5 volts - 2 = 11.5 volts
11.5 volts / 470 ohms = 0.02447 A = 24.47 mA

I'm a little over the continuous current rating but I think it'll be ok. I'm assuming the bike is at about 13.5 volts when running.

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Joe-Knows-Electronics-Yellow-Series/dp/B003N404UQ/ref=pd_sbs_indust_1]Amazon.com: Joe Knows Electronics 5mm Clear Yellow LED (25 Pack) HQ Series: Everything Else[/ame]

Last edited:

Emohawk

Would a cheap/small LED flushmount signal do the trick? You could just tap in to your tail light. No relay required for that approach. I've been thinking of doing that with the unused turn signal mounts in my R&G plate bracket.

SeñorJack

El Guapo
Would a cheap/small LED flushmount signal do the trick? You could just tap in to your tail light. No relay required for that approach. I've been thinking of doing that with the unused turn signal mounts in my R&G plate bracket.