What type of oil?

Gusm91

Hey guys, I have just done my 600 mile service and I would like to know what oil I should use for next time I do my oil change since I want to do my own oil changes starting then. I have never done a motorcycle oil change before, therefore, I have no idea in what type of oil to look for and I do not want to accidentally put the wrong oil in my engine. I am preferably looking at Mobil 1 full synthetic...but which kind? I see a Mobil 1 20w-40 4t racing...is that the correct oil for this type of engine and transmission? Thanks guys!

rail

I pick up the Mobil 10W-40 4T oil in the motorcycle section. That's the weight recommended by the manual, I've run it year round with no problems in various bikes.

master paper clip

I run amsoil, I switched to it on my 3rd oil change and man it smoothed the shit out of my gear box, they also claim u can run it for double or triple the manufacturer recommendations, that part I can't comment on cause I usual do it right around 3000... It being my daily driver I can't alway get my oil change done on time, I can say I ended up doing about 5000 on my second amsoil oil change and te oil still looked good, not remotely dirty looking

Shorted

is the Yamaha FZ8 engine a four cycle engine or a 4 stroke?

It is the same thing, a four cycle engine is also known as a 4 stroke which is when the piston completes four separate strokes—intake, compression, power, and exhaust—during two separate revolutions of the engine's crankshaft.

RoadKill

i always use Mobil 1 10W-40 4T synthetic. it's done very good on test, it's reasonably priced and easy to get locally.

DanS

Commuter
I also use Mobil1 4t with a K&N filter. I buy it at O'reilly auto parts, it's almost half the price compared to some of the local bike shops.

pigdog