Taking a long trip - any advice?

Larry P

Hey FZ8'ers. Taking a 600 mile trek into Kentucky. Meeting some friends up there for a weekend, so being able to ride there is just a bonus. I've never done this many miles in a day before, so I'm looking for some critiquing as far as my route and plan goes. Route: http://goo.gl/maps/UnLb1 This is a one day trip, can't break it into anything else. I'd much rather take an extra 2 hours to hit non interstate for a good few legs of this. I know nothing of anything north of Florida as far as traffic, places to avoid, etc. There really won't be time to sight see, as time is short. I'm travelling with another rider (duc 848 streetfighter) so I'm covered there. Planning on leaving at 7am.

Questions I have- I have stops for fuel every 100-150 miles. Its about 2 hours of saddle time which might be pushing it. We're both experienced riders and have done trips before, just not this long. Does that sound reasonable?

I know nothing about these little towns I'm riding through. Checked street view and doesn't seem like a bad idea. Staying on interstate through major cities though. If there's better bypasses than the ones I took I'd love to hear about them.

I'm good on luggage, 46L top case and soft panniers + tank bag.

I just picked up a bikemaster 12v lighter power adapter for my phone but a bit torn on where to put it. It has quick disconnects so I can mount it under either seat or run it into the headlight cluster. I have a mount for my phone on the handlebar which would be handy to just plug in next to it. If anybody has some suggestions on where else would be convenient I'm all ears. The topcase has a cutout in the bottom to allow the adaptor into it, but then I have to stop and go into the luggage to get it. Handlebar seems like best solution but I dont like all the wires and stuff on my dash.