FZ8- Tell Me About It! -Hard shifting?

jaggy1021

I'm new to yamaha completely. I just picked up a 2012 fz8 with 10,000 miles on it. Everything is stock as far as I can tell. Looks like it's never been crashed, because that would be obvious. Just minor scratches on the exhaust. I noticed the shifting can be a whole lot "harder" than something like my 2009 sv650s. "Harder" like loud, big jolt in the bike from neutral to first, and sometimes all other gears.

-I'm an experienced rider, owned quite a few bikes, never something like the fz with its styling and rider positioning. Yes, I want to wheelie it. Yes, I want to go fast. Yes, I'm learning both on this bike with time.
-I love this thing, and I want to keep it healthy, so I want your input on if this feeling when shifting (specifically from neutral to first) is typical and correct.
-Anything I should know that I wouldn't know as a beginner to these bikes?
- Say what you want, but I expected a bit more power out of a 779cc inline 4. It is quick, it is fast, but I just wonder if it is as fast as it should be.
-Just drop any knowledge you have on these fz8's, nothing is off topic. Mod's to go for, experience riding, hazards to know about it, typical problems with these bikes, important tips to know about these bikes.
THANKS A TON FOR WHATEVER INFO YOU HAVE FOR ME

Torbeach